THE Question

I got a new group of students in some of my classes on Friday, marking the start of the third marking period at school.  One of my favorite ways to introduce myself to the students and to share with them what the class is all about is to let them lead the discussion.  I gave them dry erase boards and asked them to write a question about the class, the language, my expectations or something about me that they would like to know, within reason.  I told them that it had to be something that I would be comfortable answering, “You may not ask how much I weigh, it is none of your business!”  That always gets a chuckle.

Can you guess where this is going?  I made it through three out of four new sections of students without getting THE question. You know, that question  friendly people who are innocently trying to get to know each other often ask?  Honestly, I hadn’t given the possibility of having to answer THE question any thought.  Middle school students typically want to know things like, “How much homework do we get?”, “Have you been to the Eiffel Tower?”, “How many tests are we going to have?”  During my last class of the day, when we were about three quarters of the way into the class, I got THE question.  It was her turn, she was a  cute little girl wearing a pink sweatshirt with her pretty brown hair swept into a pony tail.  She was interested in getting to know me a little better, bless her heart.  She had THE question neatly displayed on her dry erase board and read out loud so we could all hear, “Do you have any kids?”

OUCH.

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE Question

  1. Nikole says:

    So, what did you say? I have to know. I also need to know if you are okay? Are you?

    • Thank you for your concern. I simply said, “I have a nineteen-year-old step-daughter.” and left it at that. It seemed to be a sufficient answer, but the thought of, “no kids of my own” was lingering heavy in the air and and on my mind for most of the weekend.

  2. Pingback: “If you don’t mind my asking…” « Funny Little Pollywogs

Leave a Reply

