Black and White Wednesday

Today, my Black and White Wednesday post is dedicated to Brittani.

Brittani is technically my step-sister, but, we don’t get hung up on the details, we refer to each other as sisters.  We even look alike.  People tell us ALL of the time, “I met your sister, Brittani/Lacie.  You two look SO MUCH alike, it’s crazy!”  Heh.    I have been her big sister since she has been about a year old.  Her little face would light up whenever she saw my brother and I and she would scream, “Ha-Hees!!!”, as she ran to us with her dimpled smile and her blond curls bouncing.  She called us “Ha-Hees” because we would always greet her with, “Hiiiiiiiiii-eeeeeeeee Brittaniiiiiiiii.”  One-year-olds are so cute.  For many reasons, she is also one of my best friends, but alas, that is an entire post itself.

This week, she is on my mind, because she is hurting.  She has lost her Poppy.  I know this kind of pain.  If you were lucky enough to have a grandfather who you loved with all of your heart and then lost him, you know it too.  It hurts and my heart is sad for her.  Poppy was a character and he will be missed.

I had the honor of taking some engagement pics for Britt and her fiancé, Ryan, in the fall. (Don’t get me started on Ryan.  Talk about a character…)  The results are some of my favorite photos.  You can see the entire shoot here.  I can’t claim that it was my handy work with the camera or expertise in editing, or even the backdrop of our little city that made the photos so good.  It was the love.  When you are with these two, you can’t help but feel the love.

They laugh together.

This wasn’t a posed, photographer-making-a-joke, kind of laugh.  They are actually cracking each other up!

They hold each other close.

This wasn’t me telling them to get closer or sit together any sort of way.  This is just how they roll.

They make-out like teenagers.

They had no problem whatsoever kissing for the camera.  In fact, check out this juicy little moment.  It’s so tender.  I. JUST. LOVE. IT.

I love how her hand is palming, not just touching his face.  I love how their eyes are closed.  I love how he looks as if is being drawn to her and I love how her cheekbones are giving away that this is no fake photo shoot kiss.

Then there’s this.

What can I say? Could you possibly not believe in love when you look at this?  Her captivating smile grabs you. Then, look a little closer.  Do you see how he is looking at her?

Here’s to brighter days for Brittani.  The world is a better place when she smiles.  I am sad when she is sad.

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Black and White Wednesday

  1. Colleen says:

    These are really good…you can see the love shinning through in these pictures : ) They look like such a happy couple!!

  2. Shawna&Co. says:

    Oh my gosh! You just made me cry!!! I have a sister who is my step sister also although I never remember that. She is my sister. My best friend. She is hurting right now too and it breaks my heard I can’t fix it.

    Your pictures captured the love PERFECTLY!!! And your captions ROCK!!!

    I’ll be back for sure 🙂

  3. ria says:

    Looks like a couple whos very much in love and shares happiness. a great set of pics.thanks for sharing in black and white wed.

  4. Kathy says:

    Gorgeous couple and pictures…..sorry for her sadness.

  5. Robin Gainer says:

    Lacie U make me cry. What a great and compassionate women U turned out to be. I Love U. You are such a wonderful person.

    P.S. I am very sad for My Miss Brittani too.
    Thank U for sharing all of these wonderful moments.

    Love,
    MOM

  6. lisa says:

    You truly captured the essence of this beautiful couple….. There is no way you couldn’t believe in love looking at them together!!

    gorgeous black and whites……thanks for playing!

  7. Thanks everyone! This particular post was really special for me.

  8. Joy says:

    love these– the contrast is perfect.

    also, the subjects look a bit smitten . . . .

  9. Felicia says:

    Love this series of photos…they are great!!!!

  10. Christine says:

    Beautiful series of photos! Love the rich contrast on them as well.

  11. These pictures are WONDERFUL! And so totally perfect for black and white. They look AWESOME! I especially love the kiss. Tender : )

  12. I love couples who are this in love. I love love. There’s something amazing about being able to capture those moments and reveal it.

  13. Hi Lacie,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and introducing yourself. I just came by to check out your blk&whs which are gorgeous. Beautiful captures of a beautiful couple.

    Also, I had never heard of embryo adoption. It’s so interesting. I’ll be following along with your progress.

    All the best!
    Wanda

  14. Kristi says:

    Hi Lacie!
    I love your blog!! I can tell so much about you through it. That you are intelligent, compassionate, passionate about becoming a mother (and you WILL in God’s timing), and just a life loving person which is such an admirable quality. You’ve had a tough road to motherhood but everytime you get knocked down, you get back up again. I look forward to following along on your journey!!
    I also secretly hope that you might consider adopting from China concurrently. I would just be tickled pink to see you end up pregnant and with a referral at the same time! 🙂 …Which could happen my friend.

  15. Pingback: We interrupt this program… | Funny Little Pollywogs

  16. Lino says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your blog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some content for your blog
    in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an
    e-mail if interested. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

