Black and White Wednesday: Daddy’s Babies

We are not cat people.

I needed to fill you in on that tiny detail before you read or look any further.

My husband LOVES his motorcycle.  I mean LOVES it as in it’s his favorite thing in this world.  The weather was borderline okay for getting the bike out on Sunday (read:  it was okay of you were sporting a scarf with a down filled jacket and gloves…let’s be honest, it was more than a little brisk).  I love to go on the bike with him because he loves it so much.  For me, to experience his joy of the bike with him, is worth hunching over and cramming my double-wide rump onto a seat that is way too small for a woman of my proportions.  Lets just say my bottom pretty much swallows up the seat and leave you with that sweet little visual.

Back to the cuteness.  When we returned from a Sunday afternoon ride, we spotted this.

She was shivering and terrified.

She was in a neighbor’s yard and we were in the alley adjacent to the yard, walking home from returning the bike to our rented garage.  Not far from her, we spotted this.

This one was not only shivering and terrified, but ANGRY.  We tried to talk to her and reach over the fence to pet her and her sister and almost came back with stumps for hands.

Don’t let this face fool you.  She hissed, growled and swatted with ferocity and speed.  If she were the size of a lion, she’d have been gingerly licking her chops after having us as an afternoon snack.

We spotted yet another one hiding under some bushes about a yard or so behind the other two.  All three of them were shaking uncontrollably despite the sixty-something degree weather we were enjoying.  I was content to go get my camera and see if I could get some cute kitten shots.  My husband (who can’t stand cats, mind you) had other ideas.  Still sporting his bad-ass bandanna, boots and a leather jacket from our bike ride, he disappeared into the house.  He returned with a blanket-lined rubber bin wearing work gloves.  He hopped the fence and grabbed the kittens one by one by the scruff of their necks.  The entire time the ferocious one was growling and swatting.  I can’t believe he didn’t lose a limb.

The entire time he spoke to them gently.  After we got into the house he began petting them while still contained in the bin.  Within the span of about 10 minutes or so, one by one, they became “daddy’s babies.”  (That’s how I referred to them, anyway).  He could pick them up and love on them and they trusted him.  The ferocious one didn’t take her eyes off of him, but even she allowed him to hold and nuzzle her.  It was just about the cutest thing I have ever seen.

Eventually, he warmed some milk and they lapped it up instantly. He was able to get in touch with an ORCA volunteer and dropped them off at their office.  We were ensured that would be taken care of and taken to the Humane League in the morning.

The next day, he said to me, “I miss them.”  I replied, “Really?   I had a dream that they were pissing all over me and everything else.”  Just keepin’ it real.

I must say, sometimes, when I least suspect it, after thirteen years together, he really surprises me in a most amazing way.

Daddy’s Babies


the long road

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Black and White Wednesday: Daddy’s Babies

  1. Shawna&Co. says:

    Oh my gosh!!!
    The next day, he said to me, “I miss them.” I replied, “Really, I had a dream that they were pissing all over me and everything else.” Just keepin’ it real.
    That is the funniest thing I’ve read all day!

    We had two cats who decided to pee in my daughters room. Much to their broken hearts, we no longer have them.

    Also guys think girls are vain about our looks or they way we like our house..REALLY? If they aren’t concerned with the looks of their bikes, they could have a seat that would fit our entire back end not just part of it!

    • I am glad you enjoyed that, Shawna! I just couldn’t pretend as if we took the kittens in, it would have all been purrs and snuggles. I know my hubby wayyyyyy better than that, thank you very much! Sorry to hear that your kitties had to go. Cat pee is just something I can’t live with.

  2. Awww… they are pretty! I cracked up with your response to “I miss them”. Too funny!

    Donna

    • I agree, Donna. They were adorable. We might have been tempted to actually keep one of them if we had a big property where they could be inside AND outside. To me, that is the ideal situation for having a kitty. It’s not that we don’t like cats, it’s just the litter box in the house…I just can’t do it. One of my favorite souls on Earth is my Nan’s cat, Ralph. He is inside AND outside and hardly ever uses the litter box. He’s such a cool guy, I’d love to have one like him. I feel that it’s really hit or miss with cat personalities though. My last cat hated me. It’s hard to be motivated to care for, feed, and change a litter box for a creature that would love to rip your face off. How did I get started on all of this?

  3. lisa says:

    They are so cute!! I saw your comment this am…… You must not live too far from me. Maybe about an hour and a half!! Small world:)

  4. That cracked me up!!! Cute kitties and what a softie hubby is!

    Sweet pictures.

  5. Kristi says:

    So sweet!! – Just love those rare and unexpected moments that can still make us go, hmmmm…

  6. Kristi says:

    You may already know of these blogs but just in case. I am a fan of “Tell Her This” (gorgeous little girl with a mom with super big heart and amazing writing skills). Also, “First a Pearl, then a Ruby” (not two Rubies). This is just a beautiful family. I think the oldest daughter looks like she could be Viv’s sister…do you agree? Now they have a 3rd sweet daughter. Of course, when I see pics of the oldest daughter Ainsley with one of her younger sisters, I daydream of the day that Vivianna and Arianna will be in pictures together.

  7. Kristi says:

    last post I promise. I sure do wish I had bothered to read my posts before I submitted them. could I possibly have any more typos and grammar errors?? well…it’s late and i’m tired. (that’s my story and i’m stickin with it 😉

Leave a Reply

