Some Sweet Vintage Baby Stuff

I love all things vintage. 

I especially love the type of nostalgia that transports you to another time period and makes you smile.  I especially love my vintage ads that are hanging in my kitchen.  One of my ads features an attractive young women wearing pearls and a smile that would light up a room as she is ironing.  Ironing and smiling are two things, I can assure you, I have NEVER done simultaneously.  My ads deserve a post of their own, so lets get back to the baby stuff, shall we?

A while back, my mom gave me a brown paper shopping bag that had a few things in it that she saved for me.  The treasures within have brought me great joy.  Recently, I had the nerve to dig them out and wash them in preparation for the bambino(s) to be.  I just love how all of this is ACTUALLY happening!

The first goody I will share is this vintage maternity t-shirt that my mom wore while she was pregnant with me.  This would be circa 1975.  She claims that my grandfather hated this shirt.  He thought it was ridiculous.  I loved my pop dearly, bur for some reason that makes me love the shirt even more.  Picture mom sporting a sweet seventies afro and bell-bottom maternity jeans wearing this t-shirt (just like I plan on doing). 

 

I like how it was made by LaMom

 

Next up, a lovely receiving blanket.  It’s so soft and I am sure that it kept me feeling warm, safe, and cozy.

I love the neutral colors.  But you haven’t REALLY appreciated this little treasure for all that it is.  Look a little closer. 

Let me help you.

Why, yes!    Those are little bears lounging upon a giant mushroom, puffing on a pipe.  The pipe appears to be blowing bubbles, and the spaced out little bear in the blue stripes seems to be thoroughly enjoying the whole trippy experience.  This scene repeats itself over and over again on the blanket.  My mom says that it must have been a gift from one of my uncles.  Folks, they just don’t make receiving blankets like this anymore.  This will be coming to the hospital with me for baby’s first swaddle.

Last but not least, check out this tiny t-shirt.  It didn’t actually belong to me.  In fact, it’s never been worn.  My mom was a labor and delivery nurse for several years.  When I asked her about this sweet little thing, she informed me, “One winter, the hospital had the nurses vote on their favorite t-shirt design for the new babies.  That was the winning t-shirt.  I brought that one home figuring that some day one of the babies in our family could wear it.”    I have no idea of how or why it made it’s way into my bag of vintage treasures.  There have been MANY babies in the family since then.  Trust me, the rest of the family has no problem multiplying.  I’m just saying.  Take a good look. 

“Signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs!”

Yup, there’s a snowflake on it.  That’s coming to the hospital with me on delivery day too.  Some things are just meant to be.

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Some Sweet Vintage Baby Stuff

  1. Robin Gainer says:

    WOW You make me feel like MAGIC!!! There may be a PIC of me in that “BABY”shirt ask UR Nann? AHHHH and the the little “Blankie”Look in UR BABY BOOK…it may say who gave it to U? And of course the “SNOWFLAKE-T” We nurse’s were trying to be soooooo politically correct that year when we voted on BABY T’s for Christmas…Who knew back then that a future “SNOWFLAKE” would actually get to wear that cute little T? It’s ALL very magical to me.

    As always…you make me smile and cry at the same time. I am so excited for you…MY SWEET BABY GIRL.

    Sending you all my PRAYERS & LOVE,

    Forever, MOM XOXOXOXO

  2. Jen says:

    WOW!!! The snowflake tee shirt gave me goosebumps!!! I can hardly wait to follow your journey!!!

    Hugs from a Momma who has been blessed with 2 snowflakes thanks to Miracles Waiting.org!!!

  3. Jill says:

    Ok…so I thoroughly enjoyed our discussion yesterday, where you reviewed all of these items with me. However, the pics make it all the more enjoyable!! While, I could picture the baby with the arrow shirt…I think my mom had one too…I could not fully imagine the receiving blanket. It had to be from Uncle Mel…I just know it! Anyway, what a fun post. Can’t wait to see all of this gear in action!
    Love ya!

  4. How STINKIN awesome is THAT?? You are going to look so good in that shirt! DARLING!

  5. Pingback: We have a date! Wednesday, May 26th! | Funny Little Pollywogs

  6. Pingback: Tomorrow, there will babies in my belly! | Funny Little Pollywogs

  7. Sandi says:

    Hi,
    I happened upon your blog via a search for my daughter’s (27years old) blankie.
    Recently it was mistakenly thrown away by a relatives housekeeper due to the fact it was a very fine piece of fainted fabric kept secretly tucked away in between the pillow case and pillow. So after a google search with the blankets description your story appeared.
    I have enjoyed reading your post’s you have a wonderful gift for writing. I am sending you heartfelt positive thoughts that you will wrap your baby with your vintage treasure.

    Smiles, Sandi

Leave a Reply

