Old School Easter, Part I

I’ve been pondering how to do a proper Easter post.  I really wanted to give you a good feel for what Easter was like for me growing up and decided that there was only one right thing to do.  I needed to do in two posts.  So, here is part one of my two part tribute.

Growing up, I always knew when Easter was coming.  Sometime during the weeks leading up to the Big Event, my mom would start loudly singing, “Ohhhhhhhhh, here comes Peter Cotton tail, hopping down the bunny trail!  Hippity-Hoppity Easter’s on it’s way!” She knew all of the words, right now I am only remember something about colored eggs and sister Sue and an Easter Bonnet, too!   She would also decorate the house.  There were chocolate colored ceramic bunnies that she painted herself to look like the ones that you eat.  There was, of course baskets with Easter grass.  There was also this peculiar GIANT purple Easter egg thing.  Apparently, it was a popular craft project in the seventies. I asked my mom to explain it to me one time.  If I have this correct, they would blow up a balloon and wrap it in thread.  Then, they would coat the thread with some sort of liquid sugar concoction.  After the the thread dried they would pop the balloon and you would have your oh so classy giant, sugary Easter egg to proudly display on your kitchen table.  It was standard Easter decorating at our house.  Eventually, it had to be thrown away.  My brother and I enjoyed it while it lasted.  If you licked your fingers then touched the thing and then licked your fingers again, it was delicious.

Of course, there was the trip to the mall to see the Easter Bunny who, in my adult mind, is quite scary looking.  Clearly, I did not feel this way as a child.

Easter, 1976

Is this for me? Sweet! We're good, then.

We also always dyed Easter eggs with the Paas egg dying kit, which remains a classic to this day.  I remember a  few years when we used decal kits that would mold onto the eggs.  Those were pretty cool but you had to be careful not to blister your fingers and melt the decal onto your skin.  Trendy?  Yes. Fun in a dangerous sort of way?  Absolutely.   The power to trump the old Paas kit?  Not a chance.

Apparently, when I was in kindergarten, the teachers proposed a challenge for us to make an Easter Hat.  On the day of the Easter Parade, we all paraded around the school parking lot.  Apparently, my mom took this challenge and ran with it. Kindergarten had never seen the likes of this thing before.   Check out the little beauty I am sporting on my head.  Nevermind the fact that the hat was so cool that we had my little brother pose for a photo with me.  I’m not sure what he thought about this whole ordeal.

"My sister's hat is cool, but not as cool as her pastel green polyester bell-bottoms."

Let’s not forget the Easter baskets!  On the Big Day, we would wake up early to find a trail of chocolates and eggs (some hidden, some out in the open) all through the house.  It was awesome.  We always had to find our Easter baskets.  I remember one year, Adam found his and had been happily munching away on chocolate while I was still looking.  I had to go to Sunday school still having NOT found MY basket!  Do you think I was focused on the resurrection of Christ, or where that elusive basket full of goodness was hiding?  “In the closet?  Too obvious.  Maybe in one of the kitchen cabinets.  I’ll look again when I get home.  Outside?  I don’t think so, but I’ll double check.  I am overlooking something here.  The basement?” “Lacie, please tell us who discovered that Jesus’ body was not in the tomb.” Crap.  “Mary?” Close one.  Turns out, it was in the dryer.  The dryer!!!  Good one, Easter Bunny.

Me and my baby brother with our loot

Speaking of all of our loot, you’ll notice at least two Easter baskets for each of us in the photo above.  That is because our parents are divorced.  Having two separate family celebrations to a kid, always means more stuff.  The most important thing though, was the love.  Thanks for always making holidays special, Mom!

Getting ready to go to Sunday School. Easter, 1984

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Old School Easter, Part I

  1. Robin Gainer says:

    Happy Easter Baby Girl :0) I’m LMAO right now. Please make me a scrapbook of UR Blogs with Photos. That would be such a treasure for me.

    Thanks for making me smile

    I loVe YoU

    MOM

Leave a Reply

