Pineapple, Bed Rest, and More Needles, Oh My!

With all of the information floating around on the internet and from others who have done ART (Advanced Reproductive Technology) treatments, how’s a girl from Kansas, I mean Pennsylvania, supposed to wrap her pretty little head around all of it?  What should I be doing in preparation for my FET to ensure the highest possible chance at success?

Let’s first address bed rest.

CLEANING and LAUNDRY STRICTLY PROHIBITED!

As I mentioned in an earlier post, Dr. Dodson says that I do not need bed rest.  He says I should go about my normal routine including teaching indoor cycling (if I choose to continue to bounce up and down in a bike seat while getting two big fat needles filled with serum in my arse daily).  While Mama loves lounging about in bed reading magazines and watching TLC and Discovery Health Channel (maybe there will be a I Didn’t Know I was Pregnant marathon!), I trust Dr. Dodson implicitly.  I think a compromise is in order here.  I will not be on bed rest, but I WILL NOT be allowed to clean or do laundry.  That will work out just fine.

Pineapple?

Back in the Day when Pineapple Consumption was FUN!

We aren’t talking about enjoying delicious, juicy bites of fresh or canned pineapple, here folks.  We’re not even talking about that mildly unpleasant bite of tough pineapple you get sometimes in your fruit salad.  I have read online that the tough pineapple CORE contains something called bromelain that can help with the implantation of the embryos.  I can certainly suck it up and wolf down a pineapple core.  But when should I be consuming said core?  On the way to the hospital for the transfer?  While I am performing my post-transfer headstand?  WHEN, I ask you?  Will someone please explain this to me?

What about acupuncture?

While I clearly need MORE needles in my life, do I need to fork out the expense for acupuncture?  I have a friend who goes to a local acupuncturist who she highly recommends.  I called to ask about the cost.  The first visit is $97.00, each subsequent visit is $65.00.  It is NOT covered by insurance.  However, I did read this interesting tidbit.

“A German study done in 2002 showed that of the 80 women who underwent IVF and received acupuncture, 34 women got pregnant, a success rate of 42.5%. Of the 80 women involved in the study who received IVF without any acupuncture treatments, only 21 women (26.3%) became pregnant. More recently, an American study involving 114 women showed that 51% of the women who had acupuncture and IVF treatments became pregnant versus only 36% of the women who had IVF alone.”

While those numbers clearly indicate that acupuncture would be beneficial, I have been taught to carefully consider the study when analyzing the validity of data.  Umm, huh?  What was I talking about?  Oh yeah, this study came from a website for Alternative Medicine, so obviously it’s going to favor the use of acupuncture, duh.

So, now what?

I know women who have done none of the above and have had successful pregnancies with IVF and/or embryo adoption.  I know women who have done ALL of the above and have NOT had success.  What does this all mean?  I think I’ll ask my doc what he thinks about all of this, because frankly, I’d like to stop obsessing about it.

What are your thoughts?

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pineapple, Bed Rest, and More Needles, Oh My!

  1. Kristi says:

    I wouldn’t do the acupuncture for sure. I recently read somewhere on the web that there is a growing concern for accidental transmission of diseases such as HIV and hepatitus (due to some places not following protocol for sanitizing). …One would think that any reputable place would be using disposable needles, right?! …

    I suspect that relaxing and a marathon of “I didn’t know I was pregnant” would do you the most good! 🙂 ….With a dash here and there of “Jerseylicious” for some very CHEAP laughs!! 😉

  2. Laura says:

    What I did and did not do:

    Bed Rest: did a “modified version” – my doc also told me I didn’t need it but hubby pampered me like crazy and I couldn’t resist the opportunity to lay around and just veg for a few days. Everyone always says the “normal” person doesn’t go on bedrest when they conceive and this is no different to which my response was always – ‘I am not normal’ and why not be a little extra cautious. Rent yourself a few good movies and ENJOY!

    Pineapple: I think I ate a bit of it, but didn’t attempt the core. Probably falls under that couldn’t hurt category in my book – its cheap, not too gross and if it helps heck, why not try it?

    Accupuncture: My doc didn’t seem to see the benefit from it & I didn’t want to fork out any extra cash. He said the research is still mixed and while yes, you hear a lot of testimonials that it works, that may be because the people it didn’t work for just aren’t so quick to share that it didn’t work for them.

    Good luck!!!

  3. athena says:

    Hi Miss Lacie ~
    I love reading your blog – so many wonderful thoughts and lots of fabulous humor.
    I remember continuing with my normal lifestyle, although I recall making a conscious effort to take it easy on the exercise. (I was a freak back then)
    My physician was right in line with yours – he told me to continue on as normal. And so, I remember turning it all over at that point. I would be responsible but truly believed that if I was meant to have my little ones, I would. For me, I really wanted this experience to be as emotionally calm as I possibly could (I think you need a picture of the biggest rollercoaster you can find Lacie) It was nerve wracking waiting for that first blood test 10 days after being implanted.
    This is probably not appropriate to put in writing – but Lacie – those little embryos are just clamering to be born. I know it – I feel it!
    You are just the one to do it.
    Be smart – be calm – be optomistic – and try really hard to turn it over. The rest of us have you covered with prayers, crossed fingers, no walking under ladders and absolutely no black cats.
    xoxo
    Athena

  4. Christina says:

    Congrats on your upcoming transfer!

    As for the other stuff… I took it easy for the first 24 hours (vegged in front of the tv) then back to the usual. No pineapple or acupuncture for me–I had never even heard of all this for my first transfer and for the second one I figured it worked without out all that, so no need to change. I won’t be doing it next time either :).

    Good luck!

  5. Ladies-
    What can I say? Each of you have told me EXACTLY what I wanted and needed to hear! It’s really quite remarkable that you were able to read into what I was thinking and let me know that it was okay and actually advisable to NOT drive myself crazy with all of this!

    Athena- “Be smart – be calm – be optomistic – and try really hard to turn it over.” I trust your wisdom and I will do my very best to do just that.
    “This is probably not appropriate to put in writing – but Lacie – those little embryos are just clamering to be born. I know it – I feel it!
    You are just the one to do it.” Not appropriate?!? No way! It was the PERFECT thing to say! THANK YOU!!!

    BTW: I watched two back to back episodes of I didn’t Know I was Pregnant last night. GAG! I won’t be able to marathon that one for sure! Small doses only.

  6. YES, I did it all. Ate the core after transfer (it was yummy by the way) and what could it hurt?, layed for almost 48 hours in a hotel on the beach (bummer) AND did acupuncture a month before as well as right before and right after the transfer and I’m 30 weeks preggo to prove it 🙂

Leave a Reply

