Fabulous Friday: What makes you feel Fabulous?

One of the things that I love the most about blogging is that blogs are interactive.  It’s what sets them apart from an editorial in a magazine or a memoir.  Through a blog, we have the opportunity to interact with one another, and that’s what makes it so much fun!

I’d like Fabulous Friday to be an ongoing opportunity for us to share what makes us feel fabulous with one another.  In turn, we will be inspiring one another to feel fabulous and thus exponentially increasing our own fabulousness and that’s just, well, fabulous!  We all know that your kids, family and friends are fabulous, that goes without saying.  Your Fabulous Friday comment or post should be a little selfish.  It’ll be okay.  Really.  I give you not only permission, but I am specifically requesting that your post or comment be about what makes YOU feel fabulous.  Women all too often take a back seat to the demands of daily life.  Ladies, it’s time to shine!  Life is too short for frumpy shoes! My issue, not yours. Let’s get back in touch with our fabulous selves, shall we?

SO, if you love me, you’ll humor me and play along.  Here’s how to join in on the fun.

Bloggers: Create a Fabulous Friday blog post mentioning Fabulous Friday, and link back to this post. Then, be sure to comment on this post after you’ve linked so that we know to check out your post!

Everyone Else:  Comment on what makes you feel fabulous and then check out all of the other fabulous bloggers who have shared the links to their blog posts here.

For my Fabulous Friday Post, I’d like to kick things off with something inherently superficial, yet it has the power to DEFINE me.

I don’t feel complete if I am not wearing lipstick.  Once, I was on a gloss kick for a few months.  I was trying to simplify things.  It didn’t last.  My soul wept.  I had to get back to my roots.  I had to be true to myself.  I had to use lipstick in conjunction with the gloss,  and the results were magic!  It might stem from a nurse with whom my mom used to work.  Irene babysat us one night.  I was in seventh grade and the rest of the kids were in elementary school.  She let my brother and I stay up and watch movies with her while the little girls were in bed.  She applied a thick coat of lipstick and said, “Lacie, men love lipstick.  The redder, the better.”  Then, she proceeded to pretend like she was kissing Robert DeNiro on the t.v. screen while declaring, “I love him.  I LOVE him”  Just then, she spilled her beer all over the carpet.  We promised not to tell on her.  Irene was single and she was fabulous in a way that only her Puerto Rican mamacita self could be.  I wanted to be just like her.  She was funny and she was kind to children.  She was willing to give up a weekend night to spend with us.  She included us in her entertainment rather than just tolerating us, as babysitters certainly have the option to do.  She was one of my role models.  Every girl should have fabulous role models.

It’s a motto that still holds true for me today, “The redder the better.”  For me, it’s not about the men, it’s about me.  It makes me feel fabulous.  What makes you feel fabulous?

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fabulous Friday: What makes you feel Fabulous?

  1. Dang. No comments? C’mon! Where are all of you fabulous ladies?!?

    • Kristi says:

      Oh, I can go to town on this one. I can be as deep as the ocean at times and as shallow as a puddle ….much of the time!

      Love a cosmo after a hectic week (nicknamed “mommy’s little helper”:-) Love to get a brow wax b/c if not, I would be sporting a lovely unibrow. I would go hungry b/f giving up Starbucks coffee. I’m a hair snob….you see, I don’t like my hair at all so through the years I have spent so much on haircuts and color jobs hoping to one day walk out of a salon looking like Jennifer Aniston. ….uhhhh still waiting!!!!!…. But the trying is FABULOUS!!
      I love the clothes at J. Jill. I’d love to have many of them and would feel fabulous about it!!
      I guess a lot of people may be out having fabulous evenings…but to me, I so prefer kicking my feet up, blog perusing and enjoying some good ole thoughtless TV in the background. I love it!!

  2. Thank you for joining in on the fun, Kristi!

    I just KNEW that you were fabulous! I love that you are kicking back on a Friday night and enjoying mommy’s little helper while perusing blogs. FUN! I would have never known that you have unibrow potential (I don’t believe that for a minute, by the way!) OR that you’ve had such an ongoing saga with your hair! I love getting my brows waxed too (I need to dedicate a post to that some time, I’ve got stories, sister!).

    Thanks to you, Fabulous Friday was not a complete bust! I am not giving up!!! It’ll be back!

    By the way, if you are reading this right now, it’s no longer Friday. That doesn’t mean that you can’t join in on the fun. Please jump in and comment!

  3. This is a comment from my mom, she accidentally posted it somewhere else.
    “OH WELL NOW…..Everyone who knows me, knows I Love Makeup! However I am lazy and don’t always take time to put it on…THEN I discovered permanent MAKEUP!!! My absolute solution to LOOKING FABULOUS at ALL times!!!
    Mini Skirts are also my summer FABULOUS LOOK! If anyone would have ever told me I’d be able to pull off a mini skirt at 50 I would not have believed IT!!! BUT I wear them and they make me FEEL FABULOUS :0)

    Kisses, MOM”

  4. Simone1974 says:

    Hi there, this is quite an old post, but I would love it it you will permit me to comment.

    The reason that I have been thinking about ‘Fabulous’ is the following:
    I am a 37 year old mom of three. I have recently discovered, that I have been robbed of most of the pleasure of my life up until now because of a thyroid problem. When I sat down in my quiet place, and I asked myself what I would like to change in my life once my thyroid has been sorted out, the one thing the voice inside me said to me, was that I would like do ‘Fabulous’ things. I want to have a tea party for all my girl friends, and make ‘Fabulous’ cupcakes. I would like to wrap my Christmas presents ‘Fabulously’. I would like to have a couple of pairs of ‘Fabulous’ shoes. I would like to have a ‘Fabulous’ garden and decorate my house ‘Fabulously’. That lead me to google what is means to be ‘Fabulous’ for different people. I can definitely relate to a ‘Fabulous’ lipstick! Here’s to a FABULOUS 2012!

Leave a Reply

