One Lucky Girl

Thanks to my thoughtful friends and family, I had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

The weekend kicked off with my stepdaughter, Gretchen having flowers delivered to me on Friday with the most thoughtful and sincere little note attached to them.  Also on Friday, I had card to open from my friend, Shannon who lives in Texas.  She just wanted to let me know that she was cheering for me.  How sweet!

Thanks, Gretchen, you sweet thang!

We celebrated on Sunday with a brunch in honor of my mom and Nan at our house.  My brother and sister-in-law were there. I made Quiche Lorraine and a spinach quiche.   My sister-in-law made her famous artichoke dip and brought fresh pineapple as a side dish.  I announced as I brought the pineapple to the table, “Eat your pineapple, everyone!  It will help your embryos stick to your uterus!” My brother shook his head and said, “Ew.” We finished off lunch with chocolate mousse pie, and it was dee-lish.

Of course, we sent the mothers home with cards and flowers, but that’s not all.  It seemed as though everyone was inspired to honor me, on this Mother’s Day.  It was really amazing.  As I was preparing for our guests’ arrival, Michael handed me a card and said, “Happy Mother’s Day.”  It had the most wonderful message for me inside that just made me feel, from my head to my toes, proud that he is the one who will be my Baby Daddy.  Nan gave me a set of antique blocks for the nursery.  They are going to look great when everything is all set up and we are waiting for the babies’ arrival.  Did I just use baby in the plural again?  Yep.  Looks like I did.  My mom gave me a cute little gift bag that had in it a beautifully written card and the sweetest little treasure inside.

A gift from Mom, blocks from Nan, flowers from Gretchen and cards from Baby Daddy and Shannon

Anyone want to guess what the gift was?  Yep.  Bling.

A special gift for transfer AND delivery days!

Can you see what the card that the necklace is attached to says?

Did you get a really good look at what is hanging on the chain?

A heart, a snowflake, and...a girl, maybe???

A girl, a boy, a single baby or twins, one thing is for certain.  There will be love.

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Lucky Girl

  1. Missy says:

    Lacie – I absolutely loved reading about your mommys day. Love the snowflake necklace 🙂 And know there are so many friends thinking of you each day. Love ya girlie!

    Missy

  2. Robin Gainer says:

    WOW U got more cards & gifts than I did! Congrats! You R loved BABY GIRL! And not to worry I have one more SNOWFLAKE NECKLACE and will search for more closer to the Holidays…Because these little babies will B sporting SNOWFLAKE BLING the very day they R born….Ahhhh yes EVERYONE knows I need a reason to buy BLING :0)

    Love U so much,
    MOM

  3. Gretchen says:

    I am really glad to see how well your Mother’s Day went. You have so many people that care about you. I love the necklace.

  4. Anna says:

    I received a VERY cool syringe pen for Mother’s Day! lol I am SO pumped about it, and DH already tried to steal it. You should’a seen his eyes. You would have thought I had the world’s biggest Re.ese cup in my hand. He is soooooo jealous of my totally rad pen. 🙂 Thanks!!!

    PS- apparently, blogspot does not do wordpress blogs in their newsfeed. So all this time I have been missing your new posts! The HORROR!!! I’ll have to be sure and keep up better! YAY for MAY 26TH!!!

  5. sparklythings says:

    SNOWSISTER!!

    well, i’ve missed a few posts and now i’ve decided that i must read your blog every day to avoid this. i missed a lot!

    first, all of your posts about mother’s day were wonderful. i have so much trouble with mother’s day. i lost my mother in 2001, and i’m not yet a mother. so it generally is a sucky holiday for moi. i am a step mom, but “we” are not really at that type of relationship where there would be gift giving or even “happy mother’s day” saying in the house. and that part is fine with me. its the not having a mom, and not being a mom that is hardest.

    anywhoodle, you addressed mother’s day so beautifully and sensitively. and then it seems that you were honored in kind – which is equally beautiful and fitting! i love that necklace soooo sooo much!! i wonder how weird it would be for me to hunt one down (one similar anyway) for myself…

    we are ONE day apart for the transfer of our adopted snowbabies! another reason i will be checking in on you daily.

    are you having any issues or side effects i should say? i am up at 4:30am because i can’t sleep and my head has been hurting for about 6 days straight now. i blame the suppression meds. whatever, its worth it.

    see you soon!

    xoxo

  6. Pingback: Tomorrow, there will babies in my belly! | Funny Little Pollywogs

Leave a Reply

