St. Gerard and My More than just a Sister-in-Law, Jill

Here’s what the babies have been up to:

Yesterday (3 days post transfer) they began to implant and bury into my uterine lining.

Today (4 days post transfer) they will be burying deeper.  They are getting comfortable, as this will be their home for the next nine months.

Are any of you lucky enough to have a sister-in-law who has also become one of the best friends that you’ve ever had?  I am!  My FSIL (favorite sister-in-law) is Jill and she has truly been a blessing.  I’d post her picture but I haven’t asked her if that was okay, but believe me, she as beautiful as she is thoughtful, caring, kind, and all around wonderful.  She is married to my brother.  He better always remember how lucky he is.  If ever need be, I will remind him.

Jill has recently become one of my needle-wielding progesterone injectors.  She’s a pro.  She deserves a medal for being willing to do it.  Trust me.  Having to come at me with a big ole needle while I lie there with one glorious and voluptuous cheek exposed ain’t pretty.  Plus, this job requires that the administrator not only be willing to witness this heavenly site, but she must be willing to drop whatever she is doing and inject me on schedule.  Me and the babies are truly grateful.  My injections have been a family affair…but that’s another post for another time.

Thursday evening, Jill came over to do her FSIL duties and she had a little gift for me.  Check it out.

This is my St. Gerard medal (this is actually Mary and Jesus on the front, St. Gerard is on the back as well as on the prayer card pictured below).  He is the Saint of Motherhood.  Here is a prayer you can say to him if you are in the process of becoming a mother.

Prayer for Motherhood
O good St Gerard, powerful intercessor before God and wonder worker of our day, confidently I call upon you and seek your aid.  On Earth you always fulfilled God’s designs, help me now to do the holy will of God.  Implore the Master of Life, from whom all paternity proceeds, to render me fruitful in offspring, that I may raise up children to God in this life, and in the world to come, heirs to the Kingdom of His Glory.
Amen.

Here is another prayer you can say to him for safe delivery.

Prayer for a Safe Delivery
O great Saint Gerard, beloved servant of Jesus Christ, perfect imitator of your meek and humble Savior, and devoted child of Mother of God, enkindle within my heart one spark of that heavenly fire of charity which glowed in your heart and made you an angel of love.
O glorious Saint Gerard, because when falsely accused of crime, you did bear, like your Divine Master, without murmur or complaint, the calumnies of wicked men, you have been raised up by God as the patron and protector of expectant mothers.
Preserve me from danger and from the excessive pains accompanying childbirth, and shield the child which I now carry, that it may see the light of day and receive the purifying and life-giving waters of baptism through Jesus Christ our Lord.
Amen.

My prayer card also suggests Nine Hail Marys.

I don’t know how to properly do a Hail Mary, but I trust that St. Gerard still has our (mine and the babies’) backs.

And thank you, Jill for always having my back (quite literally these days).  I love you lots.

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to St. Gerard and My More than just a Sister-in-Law, Jill

  1. Jill says:

    Oh Lace…that was the nicest post ever! Thank you so much…I am so blessed to have you as a my FSIL, too.

  2. Aunt Treva says:

    Lacie, your comments about Jill just want to make me cry. You are very blessed to have one another. Could this be the reason both of you are going to have babies close in age? God does work in many ways and has his reasons for doing so, and this I do so believe. I know our family has been very blessed with having you Lacie; and Adam and now your families. Can’t wait for the family to get larger. I could not imagine having a quiet day at Donna Mae’s (Nan’s). My best wishes to all of you. Love Ya!

  3. Robin Gainer says:

    AWWWWW that Miss Jilly is truly a GEM in this Life! I’ve told Adam that a thousand times. I love her too:) She makes me smile. Thank U most wonderful Jill.
    Love U All,
    Mom

  4. Pingback: One Week Down and some Fun Baby Stuff to Celebrate! | Funny Little Pollywogs

Leave a Reply

