Meet Laura and Makenna!

For some of you, Snowflake adoption may seem a bit abstract.  Maybe you think it’s a really cool idea, or maybe you don’t get it all.  To us, it’s not an abstract idea.  It’s not something we are trying to wrap our brains around.  It’s the way we are going to grow our family.  Snowflake babies (aka:  adopted frozen embryos) have the potential for a heartbeat, for 10 perfect fingers and 10 perfect toes and for the ability to have their mommies and daddies proudly wrapped around their little fingers.

Laura was among the first snowflake moms to welcome me into the blogging community.  She discovered my blog through a yahoo group that our adoption agency set up.  She immediately introduced herself and began offering her support to me from the day that we first connected.  She has really shown me that this is indeed REAL and that there is a little life just waiting for us to spring it free from the freezer and grow it into our arms.

Laura and Makenna at Baby's First Wedding

Looking like a princess in her party dress!

Here is what I know about baby Makenna:

  • She spent three years of her little life frozen in a tiny tube called a straw.
  • She was born on June 2nd, 8 long days past her due date!
  • Some of her outings have included her uncle’s wedding, church and her daddy’s softball games.
  • She is a big (or is that little) Milwaukee Brewer’s fan.
  • Everyone who meets her comments on her beautiful hair and big eyes.
  • She has won her mommy and daddy’s hearts.

She was most certainly "worth the wait!"

Daddy's little monkey!

Thank you Laura, for reaching out to me and being a friend.  Congratulations on your beautiful baby girl!

If you’d like to soak up some more Makenna goodness, visit Laura’s blog at The Best Is Here!

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meet Laura and Makenna!

  1. Jen says:

    She’s beautiful, isn’t she? I don’t know if I realized you were a fellow Snowflake family. I really love “meeting” all other EA/ED mommies, but I have a special place in my heart for other Snowflake families 🙂

    So excited for your next transfer!

  2. Robin Gainer says:

    Someday really soon UR baby PIX will be on here:) Awesome story!

  3. Briana's Mom says:

    What a beautiful family! What a cutie Makenna is! Dreams do come true. 🙂

    (Thanks so much for the article you sent me. It was really good!)

  4. Laura says:

    Honored to be featured on your blog! She really is our little dream come true!! Another cool statistic – when she was in the process of being “frozen” the power actually went out for just a second. When we found out before our transfer we were really worried she didn’t survive the freeze process – here she is, though!!

  5. Pingback: You have to see this picture. | Funny Little Pollywogs

Leave a Reply

