Summer Readin’, Y’all! A Book Review

I don’t know about you, but I do not make enough time to read.  That is, I don’t make enough time to read during the school year.  Well, now that I am on my yearly three-month vacation (green is NOT an attractive color on you…y’all could’ve been teachers too!), I’ve made it a point to lounge my rather proportionate behind on the closest piece of outdoor furniture and sink into a good read.

I’ve just finished The Crowning Glory of Calla Lily Ponder, and I would like to be the first to tell you that as far as good summer reads go, this book did not disappoint.

It’s by Rebecca Wells, who also wrote The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood.  If you loved the Ya-Yas, then you’ll love this one.  If you didn’t read the Ya-Yas, it doesn’t matter a hoot, it has nothing to do with this story.  This book has got a little bit of everything.  We’re talking about first love, tragedy, family secrets, and the special bond between mothers and daughters and amongst girlfriends.  Most of all, I loved how it took me to rural Louisiana and then to New Orleans and back.  You will learn all about the laid back way of life on the La Luna river including the tradition of Cochon au Lait (which is French for Pig in Milk but refers to the Louisiana tradition of roasting a pig at the party after a loved one’s funeral).  You’ll also learn all about how NOT to be a sissy when eating seafood:

“Singing, eating, talking, and sucking-uh-I mean sucking crawfish heads.  That’s the way you can tell real get-down-with-the-seafood kind of people from your sissy seafood-eaters.  It’s whether we suck the heads or not, right?”

You’ll laugh, you’ll cry and you’ll want get your butt down to Louisiana so you can soak in some of their good old Southern hospitality and get some of that good livin’ that we all deserve.  They really seem to know how to live in those parts.

Read it.  You won’t be sorry.

Did y’all buy my southern accent in this post?  I tried…

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Readin’, Y’all! A Book Review

  1. Robin Gainer says:

    May I borrow it ? Or is it promised to someone else?

Leave a Reply

