Self Portrait with an iPhone

Here is my favorite new summer do.

Yes, my eyeliner tends to be a little exaggerated.  I like to use black liquid eyeliner and make that little swoop with the tip of the brush while finishing the stroke.  Its a little “catwomanish.”  I am not sorry.  Want to know my favorite thing about liquid eyeliner?  It stays on until you take it off.  I am being dead serious, folks.  Its still perfectly applied in the morning after I’ve berried my face in a pillow all night.  I admire that quality in an eyeliner.

Here is another pic of the do.  I thought you might appreciate my mad French braiding skills in sepia tone.  You should have seen what sepia did for my sun spots.  Let’s just say I like that little brush tool in iPhoto.  “NEVER use sunscreen!  In fact use this specially made No-Ad tanning oil!  It has carrot juice in it to give your skin an instant glow!” That was a quote from my mom.  We have inherited easily tanned olive skin from our Italian side of the family.  The summer was meant for lathering up with baby oil and getting as tan as you can possibly get.  Unfortunately, this is the year that I will start using sunscreen.  It goes against my family values but is a necessary evil.

This is me laughing at the thought of Michael walking in on me taking pictures of myself through the bathroom mirror with my phone.  The summer dress I am wearing actually has little wooden beads that look like a necklace and it ties around your neck.  I found it at Target being sold as a bathing suit cover-up for $15.00.  I am not kidding.  I love it.  It’s a dress to me and I’ll wear it wherever I please.

This is hanging on my bathroom wall.  I saw this original art work in the Louvre when my mom and I were visiting France after I graduated from college.  Its called Gabrielle d’Estreés et Une de Ses Soeurs.  The woman on the left was Gabrielle, a mistriss of King Henri IV.  As soon as I saw this portrait I loved it.  I was THRILLED to find it in a calendar in the Louvre’s gift shop.  When I bought my house and Michael renovated the bathroom, I immediately framed this ripped-out calendar page and hung it on the wall.  I actually thought about taking it down for the home visit with our social worker during the home study for the adoption.  But then I thought better of it.  She should see me for who I am.

What does this say about me?  Who wouldn’t love this portrait?  Is it just me?

Thanks for listening.

About Funny Little Pollywogs

I live life. My passions fuel me. I am thankful each and every day for all of the love that surrounds me. My hobbies are photography, writing and I am currently building a dollhouse. I have been on the road to motherhood for 6 long years. I hope that I will have my children in my arms some day soon, thanks to the very special gift of embryo adoption.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Self Portrait with an iPhone

  1. Ashley says:

    Love the hair–wish I were that talented! I can’t even get a ponytail right! I applaud your unique style! =)

  2. Robin Gainer says:

    HAaaaaaa! I used SUNSCREEN for the first time in my LIFE today 🙂 Doctors ORDER! And guess what? I TANNED right through IT:) Guess those natural ITALIAN OILS coming straight thru my skin WIN 🙂 But hopefully the product worked. Time will tell.

    Of course I love your artwork in the bathroom and my trip to PARIS 🙂 And your summer do it very creative…you are such a BEAUTIFUL MODEL 🙂 LOVE U. MOM

  3. sparklythings says:

    1. i live in sunscreen. irish and spanish – northern spain. white like mayo. stopped even trying to pretend to tan at 25 in the interest of being less wrinkly in later life.
    2. your hair is super cute like that!
    3. bathing suit cover ups ARE dresses! rock it.
    4. yes, leave the nekkid people up in the bathroom. hello, its the bathroom, people are supposed to be nekkid in there.
    5. i like lists.
    6. i’m sorry i haven’t been around to support my snow sister. i have been wallowing a bit. but i am pulling myself up and getting back into the bloggyland i love. came straight here. pissed as hell that you are not pregnant. i had a sonohystahthingy and it was clear. it took a hysteroscopythingy and a d&c to see and clear out a polyp. get the oven fixed before buns go in – i know it was the right thing to do, but all that waiting sorta messed with my head. you are handling things really well i would have to say.
    7. read the post about the house we can’t get in to. i’m walking towards mine right now – no clue anymore if the key i’ve got right now will even fit in the lock but we’re gonna give it a shot. i hope you and i can party like rock stars in that house soon. we will tear up the joint.
    8. that all i got, i think.

    xoxoxo

  4. Jackiee Laukhuff says:

    haha! i started using sunscreen a few years ago. i also hop in the tanning bed now and again. it makes me feel good when i can’t make time to catch some rays. it actually helps me tan faster and easier but then again i am dealing with those natural italian oils. we are lucky, we all have beautiful skin! oh and lacie how did u do that hair-do i have been trying and i can’t seem to make it look right!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

